Trip Around The Sun | Force of Nature Live in NYC | How I Won The War | Inner Grooves
Speed Of Live/Live Vibes | Strange Change Machine | House of Vibes Revisited
Giant On The Beach | Summer of a Thousand Years | The Sound Is In You
Under The Influence Of Christmas | Infinite Soul: The Best of The Grip Weeds | Press Releases



HIGHLAND PARK, NJ– After releasing a critically-acclaimed double album (Strange Change Machine, Rainbow Quartz, 2010), holiday set (Under The Influence Of Christmas, Rainbow Quartz, 2011) and blistering live CD/DVD (Speed Of Live and Live Vibes, Ground Up, 2012) in quick succession, New Jersey’s emissaries of “sparkling, insanely catchy psyche-pop” are back with a fresh round of grooves! On November 19th, The Grip Weeds latest collection Inner Grooves (Rare and Under-Released Tracks) will be released on disc and download by Ground Up Records.

Like the last bit of sound on a record where ‘secret’ tracks are found, Inner Grooves is a collection of ‘rare and under-released’ gems, a privileged trip through the archives that puts you on the inside of their circle. The 11-track album features remixed versions of singles, B-sides and songs from compilations that appeared in the US and Europe over the last two decades, and collects album outtakes and demos, some of which saw only limited release as bonus tracks via The Grip Weeds website or enhanced CD weblinks. If the Little Steven-compiled Infinite Soul (Wicked Cool, 2008) is their Best-of, then Inner Grooves is their Anthology– short of actually being in the band, you'd have to be a super fan to have these tracks– until now!

The Grip Weeds is a close-knit band of brothers Kurt and Rick Reil (on drums and guitar respectively), wife Kristin Pinell (lead guitar) and friend Dave DeSantis (bass). Surrounded by vintage equipment in their own commercial recording studio House Of Vibes (where The Smithereens, Mark Lindsay and many others have recorded), this talented group produces slices of perfect, radio-friendly harmony-laden guitar-pop, psychedelic enough to appeal to record junkies and Sixties-retro fans, but edgy enough to fit into a modern rock set. They are currently at work on their sixth full-length studio album of original material, due in 2014.

Grip Weeds singer/ drummer Kurt Reil said recently: “Remixing the songs on Inner Grooves- some of which date back to the early 90's- was like looking at an old picture of yourself, except you get to go back there, inhabit the same space you were in and soak up the vibes of that moment in an interactive way.” And that’s exactly what this new collection does for the listener. Remarkably cohesive and listenable, these ‘diamonds in the rock’ cut through to the heart of The Grip Weeds’ musical soul, exposing the layers of sound and influences they have collectively soaked up over years of critically-acclaimed albums. What’s laid bare is the irreducible core of The Grip Weeds– their inner groove– and that’s where you will find what makes them so, well, ‘Groove-y.’

"We like to mix it up in Jersey and The Grip Weeds are a great example: A touch of John Lennon (and an appropriation of his character's name in "How I Won The War"), a bit of The Byrds, A dash of The Kinks, pinch of The Who, and a dollop of more muscular Zombies and you get something quite original actually. And quite cool." -Little Steven (Sirius XM Satellite Radio, E-Street Band)


1 Rainy Day #1 & 2 (Outtake from Summer Of A Thousand Years)
2 Nothing Lasts (Outtake from Strange Change Machine)
3 Every Minute (Acoustic Version)
4 Over The Edge (Demo)
5 She Don’t Care About Time (From Full Circle (Gene Clark Tribute, 1999))
6 Love’s Lost On You (Alternate Version)
7 It’ll Never Be Me (UK-only B-side)
8 In Waking Dreams (First Version)
9 Sight Unseen (Acoustic Mix)
10 We’re Not Getting Through (German Single Version)
11 Sun Ra Ga (Complete 11-Minute Jam)

Inner Grooves will be available from, CDBaby, iTunes, most major digital download destinations and major music outlets worldwide via Burnside Distribution Corp. (

And starting November 5th with an exclusive pre-sale to their fanbase, Inner Grooves is available in the following formats direct from

Standard Edition: 1CD Ecopak + digital-only bonus track download

Digital: MP3, FLAC and Apple Lossless formats. Includes bonus track

Deluxe Package: Inner Grooves CD, FLAC & Apple Lossless audio plus three bonus tracks (via download card), autographed poster suitable for framing and Grip Weeds tee Shirt.

Deluxe package and bonus track downloads are exclusive to the Online Store.

For interviews, play/review copies and further media requests …
Contact: Eli Ransford, House Of Vibes Productions (